Connect with us

Rugby News

Leinster will play Munster in the (URC) United Rugby Championship semifinals.

By defeating 14-man Glasgow on the road, Munster guaranteed a meeting with Leinster in the URC semifinals. This weekend’s United Rugby Championship quarterfinal matches between Leinster and the Sharks and Munster and the Glasgow Warriors feature both teams.

The Leinster match at Aviva Stadium will begin at 5 p.m. on Saturday, while Munster’s match against Glasgow will start at 7.35 p.m.


Malakai Fekitoa and Antoine Frisch scored for the Red Army after Tom Jordan was sent off in the first half, and Munster’s victory handed the Warriors their first home loss of the year.

But on Saturday at the Aviva Stadium, Graham Rowntree’s team must now take on the league leaders, Leinster.

Read More:

The home team made a strong start and held the advantage, but a five-minute stretch ended their challenge.

Fekitoa crossed in the game’s opening attack for Munster in the 22nd minute after Warriors failed to capitalize on their early pressure.

Three minutes later, Jordan was dismissed for thrusting his shoulder into Conor Murray’s face. And shortly after, Frisch crossed the goal line to extend Munster’s lead.

Glasgow had a chance after Kyle Steyn’s try in the 66th minute, but the 14 men were unable to expand on their lead.

Warriors will now concentrate on getting ready for the May 19 European Challenge Cup final matchup versus Toulon in Dublin.

Leo Cullen and Graham Rowntree have both named their teams for tomorrow’s games.

Leinster squad

15. Hugo Keenan, 14. Jordan larmour, 13. Ciarán Frawley, 12. Charlie Ngatai, 11. Dave Kearney, 10. Harry Byrne, 9. Luke McGrath; 1. Michael Milne, 2. Dan Sheehan, 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. Ryan Baird, 5. Jason Jenkins, 6. Max Deegan, 7. Scott Penny, 8. Caelan Doris.

Replacements:16. John McKee, 17. Andrew Porter, 18. Cian Healy, 19. Joe McCarthy, 20. Jack Conan, 21. Jamison Gibson-Park, 22. Ross Byrne, 23. Liam Turner.

Munster squad

15. Mike Haley; 14. Calvin Nash, 13. Antoine Frisch, 12. Malakai Fekitoa, 11. Shane Daly; 10. Jack Crowley, 9. Conor Murray; 1. Jeremy Loughman, 2. Diarmuid Barron, 3. Stephen Archer; 4. Jean Kleyn, 5. RG Snyman; 6. Tadhg Beirne, 7. Peter O’Mahony (C), 8. Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: 16. Niall Scannell, 17. Josh Wycherley, 18. Roman Salanoa, 19. Fineen Wycherley, 20. John Hodnett, 21. Craig Casey, 22. Ben Healy, 23. Alex Kendellen.

More in Rugby News

Skip to content