Connect with us

World Rugby Sevens

HSBC NZ Sevens Rugby Game | 21-22 January 2023

The HSBC NZ Sevens Rugby Series is played in Hamilton, from 21 January 2023 to 22 January 2023. The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series heads to Hamilton, New Zealand for the first event of the 2023 calendar year, with the 12 Women’s and 16 Men’s teams in action from 21-22 January.

The organizers previously announced that the 2023 edition of the tournament which has been on New Zealand’s sporting calendar for more than two decades, will see the addition of a second playing field next to FMG Stadium Waikato to enable the full men’s and women’s draws to be played.

NZ Sevens

Fans will be able to access both fields with party zones, family zones, circus rides, as well as a wide array of food all part of the organizers’ plans.

Although there has been no official confirmation from World Rugby which 7 hosts will have the sevens events for the new structured season after this year, all of the media reports suggest this could be the last time Hamilton hosts the Sevens.

Read More:

New Zealand Rugby confirmed World Rugby would not be choosing New Zealand in World Rugby’s decision to “remodel” the series into combined men’s and women’s tournaments, to be played in seven yet-to-be disclosed countries from late 2023.

The Brian Perry Stand has five levels which are home tofunction spacesincluding corporate lounges, function lounges, the boardroom, management offices, player changing facilities, retail concessions, media facilities and seating for around 10,000 for sporting events.

FMG Stadium Waikato has the crowd capacity for around 25,000. For the HSBC NZ Sevens this is made up of around 10,000 in the Brian Perry Stand, 9,000 in the WEL Networks Stand, 5,000 on the Greenzone grass embankment and 840 at the Goal Line Terrace. The Stadium also has the ability to increase the capacity by 5000 with the addition of temporary seating on the Goal Line at Tristram St.

  • Watch Leinster v La Rochelle Rugby 2023 May 20th
    by Roger Brown on May 19, 2023 at 6:59 pm

    Leinster v La Rochelle will take place on 20th May 2023. The Leinster and La Rochelle matchup from the 2022 Heineken Cup Champions Final will be repeated in 2023. The French team, led by Irish sports great Ronan O’Gara, won the championship game last year by a score of 24-21. For the second consecutive year, Leinster Rugby

  • the Heineken Champions Cup Final 2023 between Leinster and La Rochelle will begin.
    by Roger Brown on May 17, 2023 at 4:38 pm

    On Saturday at 16:45 (UK and Irish time), the Heineken Champions Cup Final rematch between Leinster and La Rochelle will begin. For the second consecutive year, Leinster Rugby and Stade Rochelais square off in the Heineken Champions Cup as the Irish province seeks to wreak revenge on their French rivals. The Aviva Stadium in Dublin

  • NZ U20s will play Junior Wallabies twice in Wellington | World Rugby U20
    by Roger Brown on May 17, 2023 at 4:08 pm

    Prior to the World Rugby U20 Championship, New Zealand Rugby has announced that an Under 20 team will face the Junior Wallabies twice in Wellington. On Monday, May 29, the Junior Wallabies’ first game will begin at Wellington’s New Zealand Campus Innovation Sport. The second game will begin on Saturday, June 3, at SKY Stadium

More in World Rugby Sevens

Skip to content