World Rugby Sevens

Live Rugby Sevens Hamilton 2023 January 21-22 | how to watch the Action.

Published on

The world’s best men’s and women’s Rugby Sevens Hamilton players are back in New Zealand for the first time in 1,091 days as the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2023 continues in Hamilton on 21-22 January, following a three-year hiatus.

The Black Ferns Sevens and All Blacks Sevens will be looking to defend their HSBC New Zealand Sevens titles won on home soil at the last event held in 2020, while Samoa and Australia enter the event as men’s and women’s series leaders respectively.

The 2023 series is shaping up to be the most competitive in history with the prize of Olympic Games Paris 2024 qualification on offer for the top four women’s and men’s teams in the 2023 series standings. As hosts, France has pre-qualified for next summer’s pinnacle event in the nation’s capital.

The men’s series has seen eight different teams reach the cup semi-final stage, with all eight teams medalling across the first three tournaments.

Rugby Sevens Hamilton Women

Friday, 20 – Saturday, 21 January

22:38 – 08:17 CET – Group matches

Saturday 21 – Sunday, 22 January

21:30 – 07:40 CET – Knockout and play-off matches

For a more detailed schedule check here.

Rugby Sevens Hamilton Men

Friday, 20 – Saturday, 21 January

21:10 – 07:50 CET – Group matches

Saturday 21 – Sunday, 22 January

21:30 – 08:10 CET – Knockout and play-off matches.

For a more detailed schedule check here.

There have been three different gold medal winners (Australia, Samoa and South Africa), three different silver medalists (Fiji, Ireland and New Zealand), and three different bronze medal winners (France, New Zealand and USA). Only New Zealand have medalled twice, while Samoa, South Africa and USA have made the semi-finals twice.

The women’s series has only seen two tournaments, compared to three for the men, but five different teams have reached the cup semi-final stage. Only three teams have medalled so far, with Australia and New Zealand claiming one gold each. USA have won both bronze medal matches.

The stakes couldn’t be higher at the bottom end of the men’s series this season as well. Following the penultimate event in Toulouse, the 15th ranked team will be relegated to the 2024 Sevens Challenger Series while the 12th through 14th ranked teams will face off against the Sevens Challenger Series 2023 winner for the 12th and final position on the 2024 Series.

How to watch Rugby Sevens Hamilton Series in USA

The World Rugby Sevens Series live stream online here and through the official App.

Details on how to watch Rugby Sevens Hamilton action in your territory on TV can be found here.

Popular Posts

Exit mobile version