The Daily Rugby

Indigenous All Stars beat the NZ Māori 22-14 at the Queensland Stadium

the Indigenous All Stars defeated the NZ Māori team 22–14 after a fiercely contested match, At the Queensland Country Bank Stadium

Braydon Trindall, an Indigenous playmaker, won the Preston Campbell Medal for 2024 after he and Nicho Hynes combined for two try assists in a full performance.

Fox League’s Dan Ginnane called the Maori Haka and the Indigenous unity dance “stirring” before the game started, in front of an enthusiastic audience.

Read More: Indigenous vs NZ Māori All Stars

Indigenous All Stars

Indigenous All Stars v Maori All Stars

Renee Gartner previews the Harvey Norman All-Stars game between the Indigenous and Maori All Stars by speaking with the captains and coaches.

First to cross was the Maori All Stars, led by captain Joseph Tapine, who broke through many defenders to score the first points by charging over the line.

After Kodi Nikorima’s goal to put his team ahead 6-0, Latrell Mitchell’s team quickly responded. Josh Addo-Carr scored in the left corner three minutes later, capping a deft backline move that left him completely unmarked.

The Bulldogs flier known as “The Foxx” scored his second basket in just 11 more minutes as he took advantage of a horrifying Jesse Arthars mistake that presented him with an easy four-pointer.

The NRL All Stars Day takes place in Townsville, North Queensland in 2024. On Friday, February 16, the Indigenous and Māori teams, along with the All Stars sides, unite in a celebration of rugby league and culture.

The Māori All Stars triumphed 16–12 in the women’s competition in Rotorua last year, while the Indigenous All Stars edged out the men’s match 28–24 in a thrilling contest.

All Stars is as much about the event as it is about the outcomes, from the pre-game haka and corroboree to world-class on-field performances.

The Indigenous All Stars have now successfully defended their title, having stopped the Maori team’s three-year winning run from 2020 to 2022.

Since the Indigenous vs. Maori format debuted in 2019, both teams have won the trophy three times apiece, paving the way for a fascinating match in 2025.

Exit mobile version