Site icon The Daily Rugby

Barbarians v Fiji Rugby at Twickenham | 22 June 2024

Watch Barbarians v Fiji Rugby at Twickenham Stadium for the 2024 edition of the Killik Cup. The Killik Cup, an annual invitational game between Barbarians and a national squad, promises an exhilarating clash when the home side hosts Fiji’s national rugby union team at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, June 22 at 12:15 a.m. EDT.

The Barbarians are set to take on World Cup quarter-finalists Fiji in the annual Killik Cup match at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday evening.

This will be the second of a back-to-back schedule at the home of English rugby, with Wales and South Africa set to face off earlier in the day.

Barbarians v Fiji Rugby

Date: Saturday 22nd June 2024

Venue: Twickenham Stadium, London

Kick-off: 5:15pm

Referee: Gianluca Gnecchi (Italy)

TV Coverage: Live on Sky Sports (UK)

As is usually the case, the Barbarians have assembled a star-studded squad for this showdown, and with Fiji making significant strides in recent years, Saturday’s match in London has all the makings of a thrilling encounter.

Robbie Deans has returned to coach the Barbarians for a sixth time and his squad will be captained by All Black legend Sam Whitelock, who is set for one final swansong before retiring from an incredible career.

In their head-to-head record since 2013, these teams have met three times, with the Barbarians emerging victorious in the first two encounters, while Fiji claimed the most recent meeting in 2019.

That match was a back-and-forth affair, with the Pacific Islanders eventually securing a thrilling 33-31 victory in a showcase of running power that lasted right until the final blast of the whistle.

Barbarians v Fiji Rugby lineup

Barbarians starting lineup: 15 Chay Fihaki, 14 Leicester Fainganuku, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Gael Fickou, 11, Jonny May, 10 Fergus Burke, 9 Danny Care, 8 Zach Mercer, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Cameron Woki, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 David Ribbans, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Scott Sio

Replacements: 16 Lachlan Boshier 17 Kieren Brookes, 18 Jack Cornelsen, 19 Fabian Holland, 20 Craig Millar, 21 Liam Mitchell, 22 Liam Mitchell, 23 Virimi Vakatawa

Fiji starting lineup: 15 Ilaisa Droasese, 14 Selestino Ravutaumada, 13 Waisea Nayacalevu (c), 12 Iosefo Masi, 11 Semi Radradra, 10 Caleb Muntz, 9 Frank Lomani, 8 Viliame Mata, 7 Kitione Salawa, 6 Lekima Tagitagivalu, 5 Albert Tuisue, 4 Isoa Nasilasila, 3 Luke Tagi, 2 Tevita Ikanivere, 1 Eroni Mawi

Replacements: 16 Samuel Matavesi, 17 Peni Ravai, 18 Mesake Doge, 19 Meli Derenalagi, 20 Vilive Miramira, 21 Simione Kuruvoli, 22 Waisea Nayacalevu, 23 Sireli Maqala

Exit mobile version