Rugby News

The 2023 ASB Rugby Awards show in New Zealand on 14 December.

On December 14, Sky Sport will live stream the 2023 ASB Rugby Awards show presentation to commemorate a record-breaking year for rugby in New Zealand. A variety of recognitions for on-and off-field achievements will be given out, including honors for the men’s and women’s teams, coaches, players, and volunteers of the year.

The Te Hāpai New Zealand Rugby Community Impact Award and the Bunnings Warehouse Rugby Club of the Year are two new accolades for 2023 that will honour individuals at the core of our game.

The Rugby Club of the Year award, presented in collaboration with Bunnings Warehouse, will honor a club that has made a major impact on its members and the neighborhood. The ASB Rugby Awards show winning club will get materials and goods from Bunnings worth $5,000 to upgrade and maintain their clubrooms.

A member of a club, school, iwi, Provincial Union, or Super Rugby team who has had a positive influence on their community in the areas of participation, culture, diversity and inclusion, women and girls, mental health and wellbeing, player welfare, or leadership will be recognized with the Te Hāpai award.

According to CEO of New Zealand Rugby Mark Robinson, presenting new awards to recognise those at the core of our sport elevates their contributions.

How to Stream ASB Rugby Awards show 2023 ?

The ASB Rugby Awards show will be live on Sky Sport NZ on the 14th of December. In honor of a year that broke records for rugby in New Zealand, Sky Sport will broadcast the 2023 ASB Rugby Awards live.

2023 ASB Rugby Award nominees 

Thank you to everyone who has been nominated for an award; this is a testament to the dedication and perseverance displayed at all levels of the game, both on and off the field. It’s great to be able to acknowledge the teams and individuals that have contributed to another outstanding rugby season.

ASB Rugby Awards show Fans can be involved by voting for Sky Fans Try of the Year.

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year
Maggie Cogger-Orr
Angus Mabey
Ben O’Keeffe

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Chris Fife (Northland)
John Hume (Counties Manukau)
Sharlene Wiselam (Canterbury)
Allen Grainger (Waikato)

Bunnings Warehouse Rugby Club of the Year
Tamatea Rugby Sports Clubs (Hawke’s Bay)
Auckland University Rugby Football Club (Auckland)
Beachlands Maraetai Rugby Club (Counties Manukau)

Te Hāpai New Zealand Rugby Community Impact Award
Steven Li (Asian Non-Contact Rugby Program)
Te Kahurangi Skelton (Otago Māori Rugby)
Richard Perkins (Otago Rugby Football Union)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year
Harry Godfrey (Hawke’s Bay)
Macca Springer (Tasman)
Angelica Mekeke-Vahai (Auckland)

Ian Kirkpatrick Medal (Bunnings Warehouse Heartland Championship Player of the Year)
Siu Kakala (South Canterbury)
Stuart Leach (Poverty Bay)
Alekesio Vakarorogo (Whanganui)

Duane Monkley Medal (Bunnings Warehouse NPC Player of the Year)
Etene Nanai-Seturo (Counties Manukau)
Adrian Choat (Auckland)
Fergus Burke (Canterbury)
Timoci Tavatavanawai (Tasman)

Fiao’o Faamausili Medal (FPC presented by Bunnings Warehouse Player of the Year)
Krysten Cottrell (Hawke’s Bay)
Laura Bayfield (Canterbury)
Kaipo Olsen-Baker (Manawatu)

ASB National Men’s Coach of the Year
Nigel Walsh (South Canterbury)
Neil Barnes (Taranaki)
Scott Robertson (Crusaders)

ASB National Women’s Coach of the Year
Rawinia Everitt (Northland)
Blair Baxter (Matatū)
Willie Walker (Auckland)

ASB New Zealand Coach of the Year
All Teams in Black coaches eligible

DHL Super Rugby Pacific Player of the Year
Mark Tele’a (Blues)
Scott Barrett (Crusaders)
Damian McKenzie (Chiefs)

Sky Super Rugby Aupiki Player of the Year
Renee Holmes (Matatū)
Lucy Jenkins (Matatū)
Luka Connor (Chiefs Manawa)
Tanya Kalounivale (Chiefs Manawa)

Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year
Aaron Smith (Ngāti Kahungunu, Manawatu)
Billy Harmon (Ngāi Tahu)
Stacey Waaka (Ngāi Tūhoe)
Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu (Nga Puhi, Ngai Tahuhu)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year
Leroy Carter
Akuila Rokolisoa
Dylan Collier

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year
Jorja Miller
Stacey Waaka
Risaleaana Pouri-Lane

Black Ferns Player of the Year
Maiakawanakaulani Roos
Liana Mikaele-Tu’u
Amy du Plessis

All Blacks Player of the Year
Jordie Barrett
Scott Barrett
Ardie Savea
Aaron Smith

adidas National Men’s Team of the Year
Taranaki Bulls
South Canterbury

adidas National Women’s Team of the Year
Auckland Storm
Northland Kauri

adidas New Zealand Team of the Year
All Teams in Black eligible

Popular Posts

Exit mobile version