Connect with us

Rugby News

Wallaroos World Cup squad announced: Williams to jet into side after Sevens sojourn in South Africa

Sharni Williams has been called in for her fourth World Cup after the Wallaroos have announced a 32-player squad for next month’s tournament. 

Shannon Parry, who will also play in her fourth World Cup, will captain a squad for the event in New Zealand on October 8 which is largely unchanged from the one which played the Kiwis in the O’Reilly Cup in August.

Williams, an Olympic and Commonwealth Games gold medallist, will play in the Sevens World Cup in Cape Town this month.

Bienne Terita will also join the Wallaroos after competing in South Africa – the 19-year-old rising star scored two tries in her Wallaroos debut against the Black Ferns in Adelaide last month.

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning believes the squad has experience and depth and they can show their “continued improvement” at the World Cup.

“It is important to acknowledge the whole squad, including those that have missed out on selection,” he said.

“Although disappointed, the players that have missed out have continued to train hard in their state-based training sessions and are committed to helping make their teammates stronger.”

Terita will be in contention for a spot on the wings with Ivania Wong, Mahalia Murphy and Maya Stewart, while Pauline Piliae-Rasabale and Lori Cramer will share fullback duties.

Williams is vying with Georgina Friedrichs, Cecilia Smith and Siokapesi Palu for the two centre berths while Arabella McKenzie and Trilleen Pomare are Tregonning’s options at fly-half.

???????? Your Wallaroos are locked in for @rugbyworldcup #Wallaroos #RWC2021

— Wallaroos (@WallaroosRugby) September 7, 2022

Veteran halfback Iliseva Batibasaga played in her first Rugby World Cup in 2006 and joins Layne Morgan in contention for the No.9 jersey this time around.

In the forwards, Parry will start in the back row alongside Emily Chancellor, Grace Hamilton, Grace Kemp or Piper Duck.

Front-row stocks are well served by props Liz Patu, Emily Robinson, Bree-Anna Cheatham, Madison Schuck, Bridie O’Gorman and Eva Karpani alongside Ashley Marsters, Adiana Talaki, and Tania Naden at hooker.

Sharni Williams. (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

With Michaela Leonard, Atasi Lafai, Sera Naiqama, and Kaitlan Leaney the options at lock, Tregonning has plenty of experience to call upon.

The Wallaroos have been drawn in Pool A up against New Zealand, Scotland, and Wales. They kick off their campaign against the hosts to open the tournament on October 8 at Auckland’s Eden Park.

Wallaroos World Cup squad


Liz Patu – Queensland Reds

Emily Robinson – NSW Waratahs

Bree-Anna Cheatham – Queensland Reds

Madison Schuck – Queensland Reds

Bridie O’Gorman – NSW Waratahs

Eva Karpani – NSW Waratahs


Ashley Marsters – Melbourne Rebels

Adiana Talakai – NSW Waratahs

Tania Naden – ACT Brumbies


Michaela Leonard – ACT Brumbies

Sera Naiqama – NSW Waratahs

Atasi Lafai – NSW Waratahs

Kaitlan Leaney – NSW Waratahs

Back Row

Shannon Parry (Captain) – Queensland Reds

Emily Chancellor – NSW Waratahs

Grace Hamilton – NSW Waratahs

Grace Kemp – ACT Brumbies

Piper Duck – NSW Waratahs


Iliseva Batibasaga – NSW Waratahs

Layne Morgan – NSW Waratahs


Arabella McKenzie – NSW Waratahs

Trilleen Pomare – Western Force


Siokapesi Palu – ACT Brumbies

Cecilia Smith – Queensland Reds

Georgina Friedrichs – NSW Waratahs

Sharni Williams – Aussie 7s


Mahalia Murphy – NSW Waratahs

Ivania Wong – Queensland Reds

Bienne Terita – Aussie 7s

Maya Stewart – NSW Waratahs


Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – NSW Waratahs

Lori Cramer – NSW Waratahs


Rugby – The Roar 

More in Rugby News