Connect with us

National Rugby League

The New Zealand Kiwis squad to prepare for October’s Rugby League World Cup.

The New Zealand Kiwis have named a 34-man wider squad to prepare for October’s Rugby League World Cup.

Headed by coach Michael Maguire, the squad includes an additional 10 players to their mid-year Test line-up that beat Tonga 26-6 at Mt Smart Stadium.


Veterans Shaun Johnson, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, Kodi Nikorima and Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad are among the additional recruits, while Canberra’s Sebastian Kris and Matthew Timoko have gained their first selection.

Seven players are yet to make their Kiwis Test debut in Kris, Timoko, Jeremy Marshall-King, Bailey Simonsson, Griffin Neame, Jordan Riki and Scott Sorenson.

Of the 24-man squad that faced Tonga in June, only hooker Erin Clark is absent after being ruled out following knee surgery.

The Kiwis will convene on September 27 in Sydney for two days of training before they head to England, where they will play a warmup match against the Leeds Rhinos at Headingley on October 8.

Maguire’s side will open their Cup campaign against Lebanon on October 16, followed by Jamaica and Ireland later in the month.

New Zealand Kiwis’ wider World Cup squad:

Nelson Asofa-Solomona – Melbourne Storm
Jesse Bromwich – Melbourne Storm
Kenny Bromwich – Melbourne Storm
Dylan Brown – Parramatta Eels
James Fisher-Harris – Penrith Panthers
Kieran Foran – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Braden Hamlin-Uele – Cronulla Sutherland Sharks
Corey Harawira-Naera – Canberra Raiders
Peta Hiku – North Queensland Cowboys
Jahrome Hughes – Melbourne Storm
Shaun Johnson – Warriors
Sebastian Kris – Canberra Raiders
Moses Leota – Penrith Panthers
Isaac Liu – Gold Coast Titans
Joseph Manu – Sydney Roosters
Jeremy Marshall-King – Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs
Te Maire Martin – Brisbane Broncos
Ken Maumalo – Wests Tigers
Ronaldo Mulitalo – Cronulla Sutherland Sharks
Griffin Neame North – Queensland Cowboys
Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad – Canberra Raiders
Briton Nikora – Cronulla Sutherland Sharks
Kodi Nikorima – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Marata Niukore – Parramatta Eels
Isaiah Papali’i – Parramatta Eels
Jordan Rapana – Canberra Raiders
Jordan Riki – Brisbane Broncos
Bailey Simonsson – Parramatta Eels
Brandon Smith – Melbourne Storm
Scott Sorensen – Penrith Panthers
Joseph Tapine – Canberra Raiders
Matthew Timoko – Canberra Raiders
Jared Waerea-Hargreaves – Sydney Roosters
Dallin Watene-Zelezniak – Warriors

More in National Rugby League