Connect with us
Rugby Championship
Photo by The Daily Rugby

The Rugby Championship

South Africa ring the changes for Rugby Championship opener against Argentina

South Africa have made 10 changes to their side to kick off the Rugby Championship against Argentina in Nelson Mandela Bay on Saturday, with hooker Joseph Dweba set to make his debut and players who did not feature against the British & Irish Lions given a run.

Coach Jacques Nienaber says they do not mean to “disrespect” Argentina with the changes from the team that won the Lions series 2-1, but with five Test matches on consecutive weekends, there is a concern over player welfare after the Springboks did not play for 20 months following their 2019 World Cup triumph.

“We have a talented squad, and we are excited to see some of the players get a chance to show what they can do against a tough Argentinian outfit.

“Joseph is hard worker and a mobile hooker, which will be valuable traits against a physical side such as Argentina.”

Watch the entire 2021 Rugby Championship between New Zealand, Australia, South Africa and Argentina live on Sky Sports in the UK and Ireland

Rugby Championship

South Africa: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Aphelele Fassi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Cobus Reinach, 1 Ox Nche, 2 Joseph Dweba, 3 Wilco Louw, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 5 Lood de Jager, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 7 Kwagga Smith, 8 Jasper Wiese

Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Marco van Staden, 21 Dan du Preez, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Morne Steyn.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in The Rugby Championship