Connect with us

World Rugby Sevens

Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022 Tournament in South Africa

The iconic Cape Town Stadium will be the host venue for RWC Sevens 2022. Constructed for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, it is the home of the HSBC Cape Town Sevens and has attracted record-breaking crowds to the event.

Cape Town Stadium also hosted all three tests – and two tour matches – during the British and Irish Lions tour of South Africa in 2021. The Springboks won the series 2-1.

In February 2020, the stadium welcomed a Guinness World Record crowd for an exhibition tennis match of 51,954 as Roger Feder and Rafael Nadal took part in the Match in Africa.

2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens

Tournament details
Host nation  South Africa
Venue Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town
Dates 9 September – 11 September
No. of nations
  • 24 (men)
  • 16 (women)
  • (men)
  • (women)

Rugby World Cup Sevens

2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens – Men’s tournament

  • Ireland vs Portugal
  • Canada vs Zimbabwe
  • Samoa vs Uganda
  • Scotland vs Jamaica
  • Kenya vs Tonga
  • Wales vs Korea
  • Hong Kong vs Uruguay
  • Germany vs Chile
  • England vs Winner M1
  • France vs Winner M2
  • USA vs Winner M3
  • New Zealand vs Winner M5
  • Australia vs Winner M7
  • Fiji vs Winner M6
  • South Africa vs Winner M8

2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens – Women’s tournament

The women’s tournament for the 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens will be held in Cape Town, South Africa from September 9 to 11 at the Cape Town Stadium.

Match 1 Australia vs Madagascar 12:11
Match 4 United States vs Poland  12:33
Match 5 Canada vs China 12:55
Match 6 Fiji vs Japan 13:17
Match 7 Ireland vs Brazil 13:54
Match 8 England vs Spain 14:16
Match 2  New Zealand vs Colombia 17:37
Match 3 France vs South Africa

Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022 in South Africa

This is the spirit of rugby sevens. This is not just a game. It’s a rugby world cup, a carnival, a meeting of the world’s fittest and fastest, and fiercest men and women. This is a display of spirit, speed, skill, and strength. All, at home in South Africa. where the game unites us. where passion drives us. where rich sporting traditions meet electric energy. This is Rugby World Cup Sevens 2022 in South Africa.

This will be the first senior Rugby World Cup, hosted in South Africa since 1995 and the host nation is determined to make it as special in its own way. The bespoke tournament brand, developed by World Rugby and SA Rugby – which radiates unity, energy and passion and celebrates the spirit of rugby sevens that will ignite Cape Town’s finest rugby stage, as the top men’s and women’s teams from around the world compete to be crowned world champions.

Rugby sevens is a fast, popular, and highly entertaining Olympic sport, having debuted at the Rio 2016 Games and enjoyed a highly impactful tournament in Tokyo in 2021, which provided a great platform for the sport to reach and inspire new, younger and more diverse fans across the globe.

From the moment a hastily thrown together but supremely talented England side won the inaugural tournament in 1993 to Wales’ shock success in 2009, Rugby World Cup Sevens has always been a tournament full of surprises.

There have been seven previous editions of Rugby World Cup Sevens, starting with the first men’s tournament staged at Murrayfield in 1993. From 2009 onwards, the tournament welcomed the world’s finest women’s and men’s rugby sevens players. Australia won the first women’s event, in Dubai, and since then New Zealand have held an iron grip on both trophies, winning the men’s and women’s double in Moscow in 2013 and then in San Francisco in 2018.


Tickets for RWC Sevens 2022 went on sale on Monday, 28 February via Ticketmaster, priced between R150 ($9.90 / €8.65 / £7.30) and R1,750 ($115 / €100 / £85) and are selling fast.

More in World Rugby Sevens