Connect with us

Super Rugby

Fijian, Moana Pasifika teams join Super Rugby Pacific for 2022

Super Rugby Pacific
Photo by The Daily Rugby

The Super Rugby Pacific competition will start off next February with the Fijian Drua and Moana Pasifika groups affirmed to join the five New Zealand and five Australian establishments in the new contest.

The Super Rugby competition extended from a trans-Tasman rivalry into a four-landmass contest highlighting groups from Argentina, South Africa, Japan, New Zealand and Australia until it was racked last year in view of the COVID-19 pandemic.

New Zealand and Australia restarted their own homegrown five-group competitions prior to reestablishing the global component, which is currently set for development with 12 groups in a 18-week season beginning Feb. 18.

Rugby Australia CEO Andy Marinos repeated other driving authorities from the game by saying “this is a distinct advantage for rugby in the Pacific, and for sure, the remainder of the rugby world.”

Chris Lendrum, New Zealand’s senior supervisor for proficient rugby, said the incorporation of the two Pacific groups would build the opposition’s inheritance.

“Moana Pasifika and the Fijian Drua will add a colossal measure of energy, expertise and ability to the opposition, also an energetic help base,” Lendrum said in a proclamation Monday. “The Pasifika countries have added such a huge amount to world rugby throughout the long term and this is a chance to improve (it).”

Each group will play seven home and seven away matches in the customary season, with the best eight progressing to the quarterfinals. The two new groups will play each other twice.

The Moana Pasifika group is probably going to play the vast majority of its home matches in New Zealand.

The Fiji Rugby Union hasn’t yet affirmed a home scene, albeit the Drua group has played in a second-level contest in Australia beforehand, winning the National Rugby Championship title in 2018.

World Rugby declared the proposed Super Rugby Pacific development in March.

More in Super Rugby