Connect with us

World Rugby Sevens

Canada Sevens : Heavyweights Team New Zealand, Australia and Fiji are missing.

Fiji sevens
Photo by The Daily Rugby

Fiji Rugby Union is waiting for World Rugby to confirm Fiji’s participation in the coming Canada Sevens and Singapore sevens tournaments.

The Canada leg from September 18-19 and Edmonton a week later restart the annual series which was cancelled in 2019 because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

With the cancellation of the infamous Hong Kong tourney because of the pandemic and ongoing travel restrictions globally, the Canada and Singapore tournaments are scheduled to go ahead respectively.

The Singapore tournament is scheduled for October 29-30.

FRU chief executive officer John O’Connor said discussions had been centred on the welfare of players.

“We are still in discussion with World Rugby and we have outlined all the challenges we are going through,” O’Connor said.

“We awaiting their final outcome.”

Men’s teams confirmed are Canada, USA, South Africa, Great Britain, France, Ireland, Kenya, Spain, Japan, Chile, and Germany.

Heavyweights New Zealand, Australia and Fiji are missing.

So far the women’s teams confirmed for the Canada tourney are the hosts, USA, Great Britain and France.

This year’s scheduled tournament are Vancouver 7s from September 18-19, Edmonton (Canada) September 25-26, Singapore, October 29-30, Dubai, December 3-4, Cape Town, South Africa – December 10-12.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in World Rugby Sevens