The Rugby Championship

Boks squad facing Wallabies in Rugby Championship

Published on

The Rugby Championship matches will be played in Adelaide on the 27th of August and in Sydney on the 3rd of September. Wallabies head coach Dave Rennie has rung the changes to his squad for their Rugby Championship Test against South Africa in Adelaide and Sydney, with experienced fly-half Bernard Foley a surprise inclusion in the 35-player group.

Foley has been recalled following Quade Cooper’s season-ending injury while James O’Connor, who started at fly-half in Saturday’s 48-17 defeat against Argentina in San Juan, has been dropped from the squad.

Boks vs Wallabies Preview

Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber has named a 34-man squad for the Australian leg of the Rugby Championship.

Nienaber said the touring squad was in line with the standard travelling squad for a Rugby World Cup. The coach says he believes that the selected squad was the right group of players to achieve what his team sets out to do in the two tests against Australian Wallabies.

The squad combines a young line-up with the experienced players. The uncapped Canan Moodie earned a call-up for his first tour in a settled national squad. Moodie has been selected as a utility back cover following the suspension handed to wing Kurt-Lee Arendse for a dangerous tackle.

“We are also excited to see how Canan slots in during the next few weeks and to see how he adapts to our structures and systems, and we believe he has the skills to slot in for Kurt-Lee and Cheslin,” says Nienaber.


Wallabies squad for Rugby Championship Tests against Springboks

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Angus Bell, Pone Fa’amausili, Folau Fainga’a, Nick Frost, Langi Gleeson, Jed Holloway, Rob Leota, Fraser McReight, Matt Philip, David Porecki, Pete Samu, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Darcy Swain, Taniela Tupou, Rob Valetini, Harry Wilson

Backs: Jock Campbell, Lalakai Foketi, Bernard Foley, Jake Gordon, Reece Hodge , Len Ikitau, Andrew Kellaway, Marika Koroibete, Noah Lolesio, Tate McDermott, Hunter Paisami, Jordan Petaia, Suliasi Vunivalu, Nic White, Tom Wright

The Springbok touring squad for the Championships is:

Props: Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers), Vincent Koch (Wasps), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Ox Nche (Cell C Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Racing 92)

Hookers: Joseph Dweba (DHL Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears)

Locks: Eben Etzebeth (Cell C Sharks), Lood de Jager (Wild Knights), Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers)

Loose forwards: Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz), Siya Kolisi (Cell C Sharks), Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls), Kwagga Smith (Shizuoka Blue Revs), Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers), Duane Vermeulen (Ulster)

Utility forwards: Deon Fourie (DHL Stormers), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat)

Scrumhalves: Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles), Jaden Hendrikse (Cell C Sharks), Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers), Cobus Reinach (Montpellier)

Flyhalves: Elton Jantjies (NTT Docomo Red Hurricanes), Handre Pollard (Leicester Tigers)

Midfielders: Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks), Damian de Allende (Wild Knights), Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins)

Outside backs: Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks), Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz), Canan Moodie (Vodacom Bulls), Warrick Gelant (Racing 92)

Utility Backs: Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers), Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles), Frans Steyn (Toyota Cheetahs)


Popular Posts

Exit mobile version