Connect with us

Rugby News

All Blacks team: Mo’unga to start, young prop in line for debut, Frizell named at No.6 over Ioane

All Blacks head coach Ian Foster has named Richie Mo’unga to start at No.10 and made a change at flanker with Shannon Frizell replacing Akira Ioane at No.6 for the second Test against South Africa

Uncapped tighthead prop Fletcher Newell has been named on the bench as front row cover, while props Ethan de Groot and Tyrel Lomax have been named in the run-on side.

The All Blacks props have 20 Test caps between them.

They are joined by hooker Samisoni Taukei’aho, while 69-Test veteran Codie Taylor returns to the match-day 23.

Blindside flanker Frizell will move from the bench to the starting team alongside No.8 Ardie Savea and captain Sam Cane who will surpass Jerome Kaino (81) as the third-most capped All Black loose forward in Tests.

The only change made to the backline is at No.10 with Mo’unga getting his first start of the season and Beauden Barrett on the bench despite his heavy fall in the first up loss.

“Belief and confidence remain high in our group, which is working incredibly hard this week,” said Foster. “Playing at Ellis Park is always a special occasion for any All Black team, and this weekend will be no different.”

This could well be Foster’s last selection as head coach if the team lose, though even victory may not be enough to keep him in the post after the side lost five of their previous six Tests and the tide of public opinion is very much against Foster back home.

Fullback Jordie Barrett and wing Will Jordan had been doubts for the game but have been passed fit and will make up a back three with Caleb Clarke.

David Havili and Rieko Ioane continue their partnership in the centres, with Aaron Smith at scrumhalf alongside Mo’unga.

All Blacks squad (Test caps in brackets):

1.Ethan de Groot (5)

2.Samisoni Taukei’aho (12)

3.Tyrel Lomax (15)

4.Sam Whitelock (135)

5.Scott Barrett (51)

6.Shannon Frizell (18)

7.Sam Cane (81)

8.Ardie Savea (63)

9.Aaron Smith (106)

10.Richie Mo’unga (36)

11.Caleb Clarke (6)

12.David Havili (17)

13.Rieko Ioane (51)

14.Will Jordan (16)

15.Jordie Barrett (40)

16.Codie Taylor (69)

17.George Bower (15)

18.Fletcher Newell * New Cap

19.Tupou Vaa’i (13)

20.Akira Ioane (15)

21.Finlay Christie (7)

22.Beauden Barrett (105)

23.Quinn Tupaea (10)


Rugby – The Roar 

More in Rugby News