The Rugby Championship

All Blacks name team for Rugby Championship test against Argentina

Published on

Photo by The Daily Rugby

Brodie Retallick has been named All Blacks commander for their Rugby Championship test against Argentina in Brisbane on Sunday.

Retallick will turn into the 71st All Blacks test commander, supplanting Ardie Savea who has been forgotten about in the wake of bombing HIA tests against the Wallabies in Perth last Sunday.

Retallick will captain the side from lock, turning into the fourth captain the All Blacks have utilized for this present year.

“Brodie is an incredible forerunner in this group and we don’t underestimate his authority,” All Blacks mentor Ian Foster said in an assertion.

“We think this is a great honour for him, and he and his family can be hugely proud. He’s playing really well and leads from the front. He has come back into the black jersey this year and just picked up where he left off.

“He also has an experienced partner in Beaudy (Barrett) alongside him who is bringing a calmness to the team and a sense of direction and we’re seeing that in the way he plays.”

In the starting front row, hooker Asafo Aumua will be making his first test start, alongside Karl Tu’inukuafe, who comes in for George Bower, and Nepo Laulala. Prop Joe Moody will make his eagerly-awaited return to the national side via the bench after undergoing foot surgery this year. Tyrel Lomax is the other reserve prop, coming into the 23 for his third test of the year. Samisoni Taukei’aho is reserve hooker.

In the second row, Scott Barrett will once again start alongside Retallick, with Tupou Vaa’i again the reserve lock. In the loose forwards, Luke Jacobson comes in at number eight for his third test start of the year, alongside Akira Ioane at six and Dalton Papalii in the seven jersey. Ethan Blackadder will once again provide loose forward impact from the bench.

All Blacks matchday 23 is (test caps in brackets):

1. Karl Tu’inukuafe (20)
2. Asafo Aumua (2)
3. Nepo Laulala (34)
4. Brodie Retallick – captain (86)
5. Scott Barrett (44)
6. Akira Ioane (7)
7. Dalton Papalii (8)
8. Luke Jacobson (7)
9. TJ Perenara (71)
10. Beauden Barrett (94)
11. George Bridge (13)
12. David Havili (8)
13. Anton Lienert-Brown (52)
14. Sevu Reece (12)
15. Jordie Barrett (28)


16. Samisoni Taukei’aho (4)
17. Joe Moody (50)
18. Tyrel Lomax (8)
19. Tupou Vaa’i (5)
20. Ethan Blackadder (3)
21. Brad Weber (11)
22. Damian McKenzie (33)
23. Rieko Ioane (40)

Popular Posts

Exit mobile version