Connect with us

Rugby News

Adelaide will host the Wallaroos vs Black Ferns Rugby Game on 27 August 2022

The 2022 Laurie O’Reilly Cup is the 13th edition of the competition. The Wallabies v Springboks and Wallaroos vs Black Ferns matches will be played on 20 and 27 August with both Australia and New Zealand hosting each other. A historic rugby double header at Adelaide Oval that’s been 20 years in the making! Adelaide will host the Wallabies and Wallaroos, as our Australian national rugby teams take on South Africa and New Zealand.

After a two year absence due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it was confirmed that the competition would return. The first test will be played in Christchurch at the Orangetheory Stadium on 20 August 2022. The second test will be played in a curtain raiser to the Wallabies and Springboks test in Adelaide on 27 August 2022 .

O’Reilly Cup Rugby 2022 Fixtures | Rugby Australia Doubleheader

20 August 2022
Game 1New Zealand vs Australia
Orangetheory Stadium

27 August 2022
Game 2Black Ferns vs Wallaroos
Adelaide Oval

Laurie O'Reilly Cup

Read More:

The two-match Test series holds special importance to Smith, named after his former coaching mentor and friend Laurie O’Reilly.

“Laurie inspired me to be a coach and I feel really fortunate to have had such a great relationship with him.

“These are test matches and they are called that for a reason – they test our ability to play under pressure against other world class players. These are incredibly important games from a historic perspective, an emotional one and as a selection tool for the World Cup,” said Smith.

Wallaroos vs Black Ferns Broadcast
O’Reilly Cup matches will be broadcast live on Sky.

Wallaroos vs Black Ferns Tickets
Tickets to the Christchurch Teston sale here.

The Black Ferns Squad is(in brackets; age, Super Club, Province, Test Caps);

HookersLuka Connor (25, Chiefs, Bay of Plenty, 6) Natalie Delamere (25, Matatū, Bay of Plenty, 1) Georgia Ponsonby (22, Matatū, Canterbury, 5)

PropsTanya Kalounivale (23, Chiefs, Waikato, 2) Pip Love (32, Matatū, Canterbury, 17) Krystal Murray (29, Blues, Northland, 3) Amy Rule (22, Matatū, Canterbury, 5)Awhina Tangen-Wainohu (24, Chiefs, Waikato, new cap)Santo Taumata (19, Chiefs, Bay of Plenty, new cap)

LocksChelsea Bremner (27, Matatū, Canterbury, 3) Joanah Ngan Woo (26, Hurricanes, Wellington, 8) Maiakawanakaulani Roos (21, Blues, Auckland, 6)

Loose ForwardsAlana Bremner (25, Matatū, Canterbury, 6) Tafito Lafaele (21, Blues, Auckland, 2) Charmaine McMenamin (32, Blues, Auckland, 25) Kaipo Olsen-Baker (19, Hurricanes, Manawatu, 2) Kendra Reynolds (29, Matatū, Bay of Plenty, 3) Kennedy Simon (25, Chiefs, Waikato, 8)

HalfbacksAriana Bayler (25, Chiefs, Waikato, 4) Kendra Cocksedge (34, Matatū, Canterbury, 60) Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu (30, Chiefs, Counties Manukau, 8)

Inside BacksSylvia Brunt (18, Auckland, 2) Ruahei Demant (27, Blues, Auckland, 18) Amy du Plessis (23, Matatū, Canterbury, 2) Theresa Fitzpatrick (27, Blues, Auckland, 11) Chelsea Semple (29, Chiefs, Waikato, 28) Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali (30, Otago, 19) Hazel Tubic (31, Chiefs, Counties Manukau, 14)

Outside BacksRenee Holmes (22, Matatū, Waikato, 3) Ayesha Leti-I’iga (23, Hurricanes, Wellington, 15)Tyla Nathan-Wong (28, Blues, Northland, new cap)Grace Steinmetz (24, Matatū, Canterbury, 0) Ruby Tui (30, Chiefs, Counties Manukau, 2)

More in Rugby News

Skip to content