Connect with us

World Rugby Sevens

2023 HSBC Canada Sevens set for historic weekend (March 3-5).

In 2023, the HSBC Canada Sevens Rugby will return! 28 teams will compete in 79 matches over the course of the tournament weekend at this year’s event, with both the men’s and women’s teams competing together for the first time. On the first weekend of March, the event returns to Vancouver. Vancouver, BC Place Stadium, March 3-5, 2023.

The top men’s and women’s rugby seven players in the world will be back in action this weekend in Vancouver for a three-day competition from March 3–5. The competition for HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series gold and crucial Olympic qualification is heating up.

HSBC Canada Sevens Rugby

On the traditional land of the Tsleil-Waututh Nation, the 28 captains who will compete for the highly coveted HSBC Canada Sevens titles gathered on Wednesday to finalize their preparations before the action begins on Friday.

Canada’s men’s and women’s teams will try to put on a show for their supporters as they enter the field at the BC Place Stadium with the event returning to the city for the ninth straight year.

Breanne Nicholas, the co-captain of the Canadian women’s team, said: “We’re very happy to be playing on our home field with the men. We are prepared for the Vancouver buzz because we are familiar with Langford’s atmosphere. Competing alongside the men is beneficial for both the development of women’s sport and rugby in Canada.

The All Blacks Sevens and Black Ferns Sevens of New Zealand, who have won the last three women’s events and two men’s events, respectively, are the current Series leaders and come in good spirits.

If New Zealand’s women’s team makes it to the cup finals this weekend in Vancouver, they will become the second country to formally qualify for Paris 2024 behind France, who already have a slot reserved as hosts.

The men’s pools for Vancouver have HSBC Los Angeles winners New Zealand in Pool A alongside Cape Town champions Samoa, Spain and the United States. Pool B includes silver medal winners Argentina with South Africa France and Japan. Bronze medal winners Fiji will meet Great Britain, Uruguay and Kenya in Pool C, while Australia lead Pool D alongside Ireland, Canada and Chile.

The women’s pools for Vancouver have New Zealand, Fiji, Great Britain and Colombia in Pool A. Reigning Series champions Australia will be looking to bounce back in Pool B against France, Japan and Spain. Pool C sees the USA together with Ireland, hosts Canada and Brazil.

My writing and editing talents have helped hundreds of businesses, blogs, influencers,and independent website owners create content that leaves a lasting impression.

More in World Rugby Sevens