Super Rugby

2022 Super Rugby first match Moana Pasifika face to Brumbies in Auckland

Published on

Photo by The Daily Rugby

Moana Pasifika will open another period of Super Rugby with the principal match of the 2022 season against the two times champion ACT Brumbies in Auckland on Feb. 18 .  Moana Pasifika and the Fijian Drua have joined five groups from New Zealand and five from Australia in the new rivalry, which replaces the pre-COVID 19 pandemic title, which additionally included sides from South Africa, Argentina and Japan.

Moana Pasifika Rugby Schedule 2022

Auckland’s Mount Smart Stadium will have the season opener between Moana Pasifika and the Brumbies, while Fijian Drua will make a big appearance the next day across the city at Eden Park against the Blues, who won Super Rugby Trans-Tasman last season.

Canterbury Crusaders, Super Rugby Aotearoa victors last year, start their mission with a south island derby against the Otago Highlanders, while Super Rugby AU advocate the Queensland Reds start off against the Waikato Chiefs in Brisbane.

New South Wales Waratahs, who neglected to dominate a solitary game last season in Super Rugby AU or Super Rugby Trans-Tasman, will would like to introduce another time under mentor Darren Coleman against the Wellington Hurricanes in Sydney on the initial Friday.

  • Wales star removed at half-time a week before first Six Nations
    by debrambuhl on January 29, 2023 at 5:06 pm

    Wales flanker Tommy Reffell was an early departure from Leicester Tigers’ defeat to Northampton Saints on Saturday. Reffell, 23, regarded to harm his right shoulder before receiving remedy within the first half of of the 19-18 Saints win however played on and turned into closely involved in complaints right up to the wreck. He did

  • 2023 Sydney Sevens Final day LIVE – the men’s and women’s rugby 7s action
    by Roger Brown on January 28, 2023 at 5:41 pm

    Sydney Sevens Final day: The 2022/23 World Rugby Sevens Series is headed to Sydney, Australia, on 27-29 January for the latest round of the men’s and women’s rugby 7s action. Reigning Olympic champions New Zealand go into round four top of the women’s standings in red-hot form, having won in Hamilton last week. But last year’s World Series champs Australia are right behind

  • Black Ferns Sevens make winning start in Sydney Sevens 2023 tournament
    by Roger Brown on January 28, 2023 at 5:33 pm

    The Black Ferns Sevens side have continued their impressive recent form with two big wins on the opening day of the Sydney Sevens tournament on Friday. The side took out the Hamilton leg of the World Sevens Series last weekend and won both of their matches on the first day of the three-day Sydney tournament,

The second round of the 15-week standard season will happen altogether at Melbourne’s Rectangular Stadium with six matches from Friday to Sunday making up a “Very Round”.

The debut Super Rugby Pacific title will be chosen north of three rounds of end of the season games toward the beginning of June.

Following two years of extreme disturbance brought about by the worldwide wellbeing emergency, coordinators will trust that head out limitations keep on being loose in Australia and New Zealand before the season begins.

Moana Pasifika will play the greater part of their home games at Mount Smart Stadium and Fijian Drua will be situated in Australia for next season to keep away from movement difficulties.

Moana Pasifika

Moana Pasifika is a rugby union team made up of players who identify with Pacific island nations, including Fiji, Samoa, Tonga and the Cook Islands, organised by New Zealand Rugby (NZR), that competes in the Super Rugby competition.


The Moana Pasifika squad is:

Hookers: Ray Niuia, Sam Moli, Luteru Tolai

Props: Sekope Kepu, Isileli Tuungafasi, Joe Apikotoa, Tau Koloamatangi, Ezekiel Lindenmuth, Chris Apoua

Locks: Don Lolo, Mike McKee, Veikoso Poliniati, Alex McRobbie

Loose forwards: Henry Stowers, Jack Lam, Sione Tuipulotu, Solomone Funaki, Penitoa Finau, Lotu Inisi, Sam Slade, Alamanda Motuga

Halfbacks: Ereatara Enara, Jonathan Taumateine, Manu Paea

First five-eighths: Christian Leali’ifano, Lincoln McClutchie, William Havili

Midfield: Levi Aumua, Danny Toala, Henry Taefu, Fini Inisi, Solomone Kata

Outside backs: Lolagi Visinia, Neria Fomai, Tomasi Alosio, Timoci Tavatavanawai, Tima Fainga’anuku, Anzelo Tuituvu.

Popular Posts

Exit mobile version