Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in /home/belexhwl/ on line 92

Notice: Trying to get property 'cat_name' of non-object in /home/belexhwl/ on line 92

2022 Rugby sevens at the Commonwealth Games : How to Watch , Schedule Tickets | Rugby sevens Birmingham 2022

The Commonwealth Games is an international multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930 and, with the exception of 1942 and 1946, has taken place every four years since then. The most recent Games were held on the Gold Coast, Australia from 4-15 April, 2018 and the next are to be held in Birmingham, England from 28 July-8 August, 2022.

Rugby sevens Birmingham 2022

The 2022 Commonwealth Games, officially known as the XXII Commonwealth Games and commonly known as Birmingham 2022, will be held in Birmingham, England from 28 July to 8 August, 2022.

The Birmingham 2022 competition schedule features more medal events for women than men for the first time in Commonwealth Games history, and in 2022 many of the finest women’s rugby sevens teams in the world will be competing once again alongside their male counterparts.

The men’s and women’s rugby sevens schedule was recently announced by the event organisers and will be staged on 29-31 July, 2022, with two sessions played on all three match days.

Commonwealth Sevens Rugby Ticketing 2022

  • The ticket ballot is open from 8 September until 30 September
  • In total there will be more than one million tickets priced £22 or less available for Birmingham 2022
  • Tickets start at £8 for under 16s and £15 for adults
  • You can apply for tickets for all 286 sessions of sport and also for the Opening and Closing Ceremonies
  • You will find out in October if you have been successful in securing tickets
  • The only way to apply for tickets to Birmingham 2022 is through the website at
  • The competition schedule for all of the 19 sports and eight para sports is on the website, as well as information about the 14 venues

Ticketing accounts can be set up now at, with tickets starting from just £8 for under 16s and from £15 for adults. There will be £22 tickets available for every session, including the opening and closing ceremonies.

History of Rugby Sevens at the Commonwealth Games

Rugby sevens was first played in the Commonwealth Games in 1998 with the inclusion of a men’s competition, in which New Zealand defeated Fiji to take the gold medal. The inaugural women’s rugby sevens competition took place in 2018 when New Zealand beat Australia in the final.

1998 – KUALA LUMPUR Gold: New Zealand
Silver: Fiji
Bronze: Australia
2002 – MANCHESTER Gold: New Zealand
Silver: Fiji
Bronze: South Africa
2006 – MELBOURNE Gold: New Zealand
Silver: England
Bronze: Fiji
2010 – DELHI Gold: New Zealand
Silver: Australia
Bronze: South Africa
2014 – GLASGOW Gold: South Africa
Silver: New Zealand
Bronze: Australia
2018 – GOLD COAST Gold: New Zealand
Silver: Fiji
Bronze: England
Gold: New Zealand
Silver: Australia
Bronze: England

Did you know?

Seventy-two nations currently participate in the Commonwealth Games. There are only six nations who have participated in every Commonwealth Games: Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales. Australia have been the highest achieving team for 13 Games, England for seven, and Canada for one.

Nineteen cities in nine countries have hosted the event. Australia has hosted the Commonwealth Games five times, the most of any nation (1938, 1962, 1982, 2006 and 2018).

Popular Posts

Exit mobile version